• img-book

    Rachele Alpine

ISBN: 9781605425870
Category:

Canary

by: Rachele Alpine

Kate Franklin’s life changes for the better when her dad lands a job at Beacon Prep, an elite private school with one of the best basketball teams in the state. In a blog of prose and poetry, Kate chronicles the experience of dating a player, being caught up in a world of idolatry and entitlement, and discovering the perks the inner circle enjoys.

$9.99

Hidden
Meet the Author
avatar-author
Rachele Alpine is a lover of sushi, fake mustaches, and Michael Jackson. One of her first jobs was at a library, but it didn’t last long, because all she did was hide in the third-floor stacks and read. Now she’s a little more careful about when and where she indulges her reading habit. By day she’s a high school English teacher, and by night she writes with the companionship of the world’s cutest dog, Radley, a big cup of coffee, and a full bag of gummy peaches. Rachele lives with her husband in Cleveland, Ohio, but dreams of moving back to Boston, the city she fell in love with while attending graduate school there. You can find her thoughts about pretty much everything at www.freckle-head.blogspot.com
Books of Rachele Alpine
Add to cart
Canary 2013
About This Book
Overview

FINALIST for the 2014 IPBA Ben Franklin Award for Teen Fiction (13-18 years)

Kate Franklin’s life changes for the better when her dad lands a job at Beacon Prep, an elite private school with one of the best basketball teams in the state. In a blog of prose and poetry, Kate chronicles the experience of dating a player, being caught up in a world of idolatry and entitlement, and discovering the perks the inner circle enjoys.

But those perks come at a price. At a party, one of her boyfriend’s teammates takes his power too far and assaults Kate. She knows she should speak out, but her dad tries to silence her in an effort to protect the team. The world that once welcomed Kate has betrayed her, and she must decide whether to stay quiet or expose the corruption, destroying her father’s career and bringing down a town’s heroes.

Details

ISBN: 9781605425870
Publisher: Medallion Press Inc.
Publish Date: 2013
Page Count:

“This is a captivating tale that addresses a lot of contemporary issues in a sensitive and thought-provoking way.” ~Nicki J Markus, author


“A searing and tender portrait of the complexities of high school friendships, dating and privilege. Canary is a testament to the power of the hard-won truths.” ~Daisy Whitney, author of The Mockingbirds and When You Were Here


"The subtle way Rachele Alpine addresses love, loss, popularity, and friendship makes this book a realistic and arresting read. For anyone who ever struggled with frenemies and fitting in, Canary is an important addition to contemporary YA discussions." ~Jennifer Brown, author of Hate List


"Rachele Alpine’s Canary sings the truth about what happens when we put our high school heroes on a pedestal and give them the power to act like villains." ~Erin Jade Lange, author of Butter


"I also admire how the subtexts of family, of privilege and how it is exploited, of bullying, and the sexual vulnerability of many girls are presented. . . . It is a powerful story that evokes intense emotions. . . . I encourage you to grab a copy of Canary. . . ." ~Jhobell Kristyl, Book Maven's Picks


“Sometimes I feel like I need a lot of words to describe a story and convince people to read it. This time I’m not going to. Canary is so much better than that. I need not convince you anymore.” ~ Open Book Society


“Overall, a sophisticated, evocative portrait of a teen girl finding her place among peers and family.” ~Kirkus Reviews


“Canary is a powerful read. It takes you on a journey filled with loss, heartache, betrayal, and the road that leads you to finding yourself, your voice, and fully accepting who you are. It was not an easy journey. That’s what I loved about it so much.” ~Jaiden, Girls on YA Books


“This is a read that you can really learn from and love. . . .” ~Chloe Lee, B.O.O.K.L.I.F.E.


“Overall, Canary was a solid read that mixed verse and prose in a unique and memorable way. If you’re looking for something a little different, this is your book.” ~Tara, Fiction Folio


“Canary is a very important book . . . about being forced to maintain appearances and silence yourself to benefit others, but more than that, it is a book that tears that all down to show how important it is to speak up. It is a book that addresses society's problem of rape culture head-on and not only shows how much harm it can do but also could have the power to give a victim the strength to stand up against it.” ~Jessica Reid, Readmybreathaway.blogpost.ca


“In the wake of the Steubenville case, this stand-alone debut tells a powerful tale—one that, unfortunately, is all too plausible. . . . Kate’s first-person narrative, interspersed with posts and poetry from her private blog, drags readers into the soft corners of her life as she ultimately steps up to be her own person and defend against those who have neglected and abused her.” ~Young Adult Magazine


"This is a contemporary novel that will resonate with many teens and is especially topical considering a recent high-profile case of rape involving high school football players. . . . Many teens will identify with [Kate's] struggle, and many will see their own high school environment, particularly in respect to the adulation of athletes, mirrored in this compelling story. Teens will also like the format of the novel, told in blog posts and verse reminiscent of Ellen Hopkins’s popular 'problem' novels." ~ Jan Chapman, VOYA magazine


“Canary is a raw and beautiful story.” ~The Story Sanctuary


“Canary reveals the harsh reality of athletic entitlement and the power of peer pressure. However, it also shows the victory of familial love and trust, and the importance of having the courage to be yourself.” ~Libby’s Guide


“This gut-wrenching story of one girl’s struggle to accept and tell the truth is a unique and thought-provoking read for fans of Ellen Hopkins, Sarah Dessen, and Laurie Halse Anderson. I cannot recommend this amazing debut enough. ~Say It with Books